Fast Track for New believers #1. Let God speak to you!

The God who created the moon and the stars wants to speak with you.

speak to my heart“I have not departed from the commandment of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my portion of food.” Job 23:12

Do you remember what it feels like to be the new member of the club, the team, the class?  Your palms are sweaty, you have the feeling all eyes are on you, and you want to melt into your seat hoping no one asks you to speak.

Maybe your experience was not as traumatic as mine.  I confess I am naturally an introvert.  Being the new kid on the block is a stressor for me.

I’m a veteran church member.  I accepted Christ at the age of nine and followed him into baptism, becoming a church member.  I’ve seen many new believers come and unfortunately, I have seen many go.

It grieves me that we win some, wet them and lose them.  Following the Great Commission to a tee, we still fail at closing the back door and keeping those babes in Christ.

GREAT COMMISSION

Go therefore[a] and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen Matthew 28:19-20

Therefore, I’m taking a fresh approach to this blog.  I want to speak to you, the new believer who has courageously “joined” the church.  You are the novice Christian searching for answers and wondering how to effectively melt into this pot of church goers.  September’s Theme is written just for you.  Have a seat.  Let’s have a Real Talk.

  1. Listen to God. He is your friend.

When Abraham believed God’s promise that he would become the father of many nations, God declared him righteous and called him his friend.

Friends talk on a regular basis. They hang out together.  They mutually share personal information, a confidential listening ear and a shoulder to lean on.  Trust God!  Let him into your personal life.  The God who created the moon and the stars wants to speak with you.

 And the Scripture was fulfilled which says, “Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.”[a] And he was called the friend of God. James 2:23

  1. Read God’s letter. It’s addressed to you.

When you open the bible and read it with an open heart, willing to hear from God, he will speak personally to you.  That’s called a rhema word.  A rhema word is a tailor made word.  A personal letter, just for you.

  1. Now that you know your friend has written you a letter. Make time daily to read it.  Start with 10-15 minutes at the start or  end of your day.
  2. Ask God to make you receptive of his word and help you to comprehend what he is saying.
  3. I recommend you start in the book of John. Don’t rush, let his words seep into your spirit.  Take bite sized pieces.  Start with one or two verses and work your way up to more.
  4. Meditate on his word. While reading, take note of anything that jumps out at you. It may appear to be written in bold when you know it’s not.  Write down that verse, phrase or word and place it in several places. (On the bathroom mirror, on your car dashboard, or as a book mark in your day planner)

The more you read God’s word, the closer and more intimate your relationship will become.  This is a friend you want to know better.  So, pick up the letter and read.

Author: realtalk859

Hi, I'm Calvonia. I'm so glad you stopped by. I'm a small town girl with old school ways. So come on in, share of cup of hot tea and a real conversation. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. Our union has been blessed with three children a couple of in-loves and a few grandchildren. We are so blessed. I love God more than words can articulate and sharing his word and his love with my sisters literally makes me smile. Enough about me, let's talk about Jesus!

2 thoughts on “Fast Track for New believers #1. Let God speak to you!”

Leave a comment