Fast track for new believers #2. Talk to God!

How important is your relationship with God? Is he worth a long distance call?

“Men always ought to pray and not lose heart” (Luke 18:1)

700-00918310

My husband and I have been married for over 34 years and we dated for two.  Needless to say, we have had thousands of conversations.

I remember when we were dating.  We would talk

and talk

and talk.

There was no topic off limits.  I learned so much about him and him me.  Just talking.

The only thing I hated about our conversations was ending them.  I hated to say goodbye.  The minutes and hours between our talks seemed like years.  I anxiously awaited the next phone call.

Long phone conversations may not seem so significant if you were born, oh let’s say in the 90’s.  But when we were dating, long distant conversations were expensive.  My boyfriend was doing all the calling because that was the proper thing for him to do.  He spent quite a bit of money on me.  Why?  Because our relationship was that important to him.

How important is your relationship with God?  Is he worth a long distance call?

God desires to commune with you.  He is eager to listen to your heart’s cries and share mysteries with you.  He is patiently waiting on you to pick up the phone and call.

Prayer can be intimidating when you are a new Christian.  Don’t let the uncomfortableness deter you.  The more you pray the closer your relationship will become and the more comfortable you will be talking to him.  Here are a few tips to get you started.

1. Just do it

God isn’t expecting a collegiate dissertation.  He just wants to talk.  Remember he is your best friend.  He already knows your heart.  You can’t shock him with anything you say.  He doesn’t demand a certain jargon.  You’re his child and he wants to hear from you.

2. Use a model

Remember as a child being taught “Now I lay me down to sleep.  I pray the Lord my soul to keep.  If I should die before I wake.  I pray the Lord my soul to take”?  That was a model, not a place to get stuck in your prayer life but a beginning.

There are many models. Jesus gave the first model.

 In this manner, therefore, pray:

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
10 Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
11 Give us this day our daily bread.
12 And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.
13 And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.
For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen. Matthew 5: 9-13

Here is a link to some other prayer models.  My favorite is the ACTS model.  I suggest you try using one until you get more comfortable praying solo.

http://www.bobyoungresources.com/articles/prayer-models.htm

3. Attend prayer service at your local church.

Prayer meeting is a place where you have been invited to eavesdrop on  intimate moments with God.  You will learn how to talk to him by listening to others.

I encourage you to try one or more of these tips.  Most importantly, just start where you are.  You will grow day by day. Be blessed!

 

 

 

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

4 thoughts on “Fast track for new believers #2. Talk to God!”

  1. Calvonia- great post about simplifying prayer for the all believers. I’ve been a Christian longer than I can remember, but only in the last few years have I learned to pray simple heart-felt prayers. I need to remember to give God more time during the day with prayer. Busyness likes to eat me up. It does spit me out too. God is so much more important!

    My hubby and I spent a lot of time on the phone too;) No texting, emails or facetime.
    Julie

    Like

    1. Thank you for your transparency Julie. I struggle with time management as well. It’s all about priority. We need to work harder at putting God first. Let’s pray for each other. Blessings to you my sister.

      Like

  2. Wow! I needed to hear these beautiful messages. I’m very impressed and grateful for this blog. Thank you for sharing such great advice. You have inspired me!

    Like

    1. When I was writing the last one for this month I thought of you. It’s difficult to assimilate to being a new believer and church life. I hope you find something there that will encourage you and help pave the road to spiritual growth.

      Like

Leave a Reply

