When God Gives you a Rock for a Hard Place

Written by Calvonia Radford 8/11/2020

Motivational speaker, Brian Tracy says “Every experience in your life is being orchestrated to teach you something you need to know to move forward.”

When we moved to our current home in Central Kentucky due to my husband’s new church call, I accepted a position with Bluegrass Head start as an Assistant Teacher. I had been working in a Head start program in Western Kentucky as a Family Resource Worker. I loved my job. Assessing family needs and developing a plan to help them achieve their aspirations.

I interviewed for the job thinking I could get my foot in the door and eventually land the position I loved. God had a different idea. It was a set up.

Within a month of my hire, while conducting a child’s Lap-D Assessment, I encountered a three-year-old who didn’t know her name, how to count, how to hold a pencil or a book. My job required me to work alongside this little girl’s therapist and implement those strategies in the classroom between sessions.

I watched the child’s developmental milestones manifest right before my eyes. By end of semester she had caught up with the other children. I saw the effects of early intervention and I was hooked.

Long story short, I went on to be the Owner/Director of a Child Development Center, Section Supervisor of our state’s Early Intervention Program and currently I serve as Branch Manager for the Division of Childcare’s Quality programming. It took a little 3-year-old girl named, Lena to catapult me into the career God had for me.

When King David was a lad, someone gave him a stone and taught him how to hurl it fast enough to knock things down. I don’t know what he hurled stones, but he learned skill and accuracy. (I Samuel 16:11)

David graduated to a sling and improved his craft. Eventually, he became protector to the family’s sheepfold. Shepherd was his new title.

David had three older brothers who had followed King Saul into battle with the Philistines. (I Samuel 17:13) One day David’s father, Jesse had him leave early in the morning and take some rations to the men on the battlefield and bring back a report of their well being. He left home with 36lbs of roasted grain, 10 loaves of bread and 10 cheeses. (I Samuel 17:17-18)

David reached the camp just as the men were lining up for battle. He ran ahead to check in on his brothers and overheard the giant Goliath spitting out enough trash talk to silence Muhammad Ali.  His words were so sharp, when he spoke the Israelites tucked their tails and ran.

Not the little shepherd boy. Something on the inside of him welled up and he declared, “Who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God?” Even after his big brother tried to humiliate him, ‘Why have you come down here?” and “With whom did you leave those few sheep in the wilderness?”, David maintained a stance of holy confidence.(I Samuel 17:26-28) (Proverbs 14:26)

“Then David spoke to the men who stood by him, saying, “What shall be done for the man who kills this Philistine and takes away the reproach from Israel? For who is this uncircumcised Philistine, that he should defy the armies of the living God?” I Samuel 17:26 NKJV

Word got back to King Saul, so he sent for David and tried to dissuade him from confronting Goliath, an experienced warrior. Saul viewed David as a novice that was about to lose his life, so David got out his resume and showed the King his credentials. (I Samuel 17:33-37)

Professional summary: Herded, tended and guarded sheep from predators.

Evidence of skill: On two occasions, I killed a lion or a bear that came to destroy the flock. While it was carrying off sheep from the flock, I chased it and struck it down. I rescued the sheep from its mouth, snatched it by its hair and killed it.

Work history: Served on my father’s farm since childhood.

Statement of intent: “The Lord, who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear, He will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” v.37

The King reluctantly hired him and tried to equip him with his own armor and weapon. Yet, the armor that fit Saul was too large for David. It hindered more than helped. He had to use the tools he had been given. A stone, a sling and spiritual confidence in the true and living God. (I Samuel 17:38-41)

Too often we envy others because it appears, they are better equipped for the day than we. We think we could accomplish so much more if only we had the gear they work with. Yet, just like young David. God has been preparing us for the unseen and unknown since childhood.

We think we could accomplish so much more if only we had the gear they work with. Yet, just like young David. God has been preparing us for the unseen and unknown since childhood.

Every time we’ve fallen, He taught us how to get back up. And those insignificant lessons we have learned along the way are just the tools and strategies we need to be more than conquerors. (Romans 8:37)

In this season of unrest and uncertainty, we must remember and recall our lions and bears. It is time to take a holy stance and use the tools we have. We, like David will overcome our enemy! (I Samuel 17:49-50)

Thoughts to ponder: In what way has God equipped you for this season of life? Identify 2-3 tools you can pull out of your toolbox and slay some giants.

Let’s pray: Father, I thank you that I am not defeated by the circumstances and situations of the day. You have been preparing me since I excited my mother’s womb. Help me to resist defeat and tap your spiritual power within me. Help me to sharpen my tools and report for duty. Thank you, that I already know I am a overcomer. In Jesus name, Amen!

(c) (2020) by Calvonia Radford. All right reserved.

If you find this blog helpful in your walk with God, please join the conversation by leaving a comment and/or share on your social media platforms.

Author: realtalk859

Hi, I'm Calvonia. I'm so glad you stopped by. I'm a small town girl with old school ways. So come on in, share of cup of hot tea and a real conversation. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. Our union has been blessed with three children a couple of in-loves and a few grandchildren. We are so blessed. I love God more than words can articulate and sharing his word and his love with my sisters literally makes me smile. Enough about me, let's talk about Jesus!

4 thoughts on “When God Gives you a Rock for a Hard Place”

  1. I truly enjoyed ready your message, it was powerful and touch my heart. My first job was with Head Start in Christian Country as a Family Resource Work. Amazing.

    Like

Leave a comment