I have been adopted into the Family of God!

June 11, 2017 by Calvonia Radfordadopted

Did you know I was adopted?

Yes, I am adopted!

My father took me into his family when I was nine years old.  He had known me since I was born.  Actually, before I was born, but that is another story.

Every day he watched me play in the yard.  He observed me when I interacted with my friends.  He even came to my school to see how I behaved in that environment.  He knew I was stubborn, hard headed, selfish and disobedient.

I couldn’t get anything past him.  He was very aware that I was a slacker.  I failed to focus in class, I lied about having homework, I procrastinated when it came to studying for an upcoming test or working on a project.

I was a mess!  Definitely a work in progress.  But my progress was slow as a snake crossing the road.

My father saw me.  The real me.  Not the one that I allowed people to see.  The mannerable, helpful, Sunday school going little girl.  He knew me.  Inside out.

Yet he loved me still! Just the way I was.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Rom. 5:8

My father is so wise, he looked into the stony heart of mine and saw a ruby.  He saw his plan and purpose for my life as if I was already walking in it.

So he loved me to him.  When I was unloveable, he loved me even more!  He loved me until it dripped down my sides like sticky molasses running down the bottle. His love was visible, tangible and smellable. Yes, smellable is a word.

His love drew me to him.

“The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.“ Jeremiah 31:3

I am adopted and if you have accepted Jesus as your Savior, God has adopted you into his family as well.  You are my sister!  We are one BIG happy family.

“And I will be a father to you, And you shall be sons and daughters to Me,” Says the Lord Almighty. II Corinthians 6:18

“For you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus.”

Galatians 3:26

We are not children of God biologically.  He loves us deeper than that.  He loves us in a way that is not humanly possible.  He loves us to death! Literally, the death of the cross.  John 3:16

I love this little poem that clearly depicts the love an adopted mother has for her children.  It accurately describes her love and how that child grew in her heart.  Anyone who reads this poem can feel the love expressed through those words.

My sister, God’s love for us is so much better than that.  He loves us past death.  He has prepared a place for us in heaven with him.  There are plenty good rooms in my father’s kingdom.

If you have not come into the family yet.  Won’t you consider accepting his invitation to God’s family?  There is still room at the cross for you.

Not flesh of my flesh,

Nor bone of my bone,

but still miraculously my own.

Never forget for a single minute;

You didn’t grow under my heart

but in it.

Fleur Conkling Heyliger. 

 

wise-woman

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

Leave a Reply

