Memorial Day! I remember!

My today is built upon the foundation of those who walked yesterday’s trail with me in mind.

May 29, 2017, by Calvonia

vetarans

Render therefore to all their due: taxes to whom taxes are due, customs to whom customs, fear to whom fear, honor to whom honor.

Romans 13:7 NKJV

I have a tendency to reminisce about days gone by.  Memories and meditation are woven into the fiber of my being.

My today is built upon the foundation of those who walked yesterday’s trail with me in mind.

I love thinking about playing kickball in the street while the adults sat on our porch drinking sweet tea out of mason jars.  I remember swinging on my Aunt Jessie’s porch so high she fussed at us and we laughed into the night.

I recall sleeping in the bed with my cousins, whispering because my mother had forbidden us from talking.  I don’t know what she was thinking.

I remember picking blackberries and raising a garden with my grandfather.  I remember!

Most of my reflections are pleasant.  Though sprinkled with flashbacks of some uncomfortable events, I have been blessed!

Today I commemorate those who struggle with memories that haunt them in the night.  Those who have had mental health diagnoses tagged on them.

PTSD! Post-traumatic stress disorder.

Trauma and stress they experience due to serving vicariously in my place.  I am forever grateful!

I honor the men and women who chose to enlist in our armed forces protecting our country.  Though aware of the risk, they signed up for the unknown trauma ahead.

I pay tribute to the soldier who left this land whole but returned physically maimed and/or mentally and emotionally damaged.  I have nothing but respect for those who sacrificed their lives for me.

Unfortunately, many were defeated.  Some came back in body bags and others stood upright with the appearance of normalcy but within they are still at war. Fighting the horror film that keeps playing in their minds.

They are the hidden figures.

Most of them whose names I will never know.  I will probably never cross paths with them or their family members or given an opportunity to say, “Thank you for your service”.

Nonetheless, I appreciate the veterans who have served, as well as those who serve today.

And I’m proud to be an American
Where at least I know I’m free
And I won’t forget the men who died
Who gave that right to me

And I gladly stand up
Next to you and defend her still today
Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land
Excerpt from God bless the USA Written by Lee Greenwood

Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group

I’m linking up with my blogger friends below this week.

wise-womantellhisstory-badgeparty on the porchtestimonytuesday200x200_zps25c8f37c

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “Memorial Day! I remember!”

  1. such a great reminder – freedom is not free, that is for sure! blessed to be your neighbor on Holly’s today

    Like

Leave a Reply

