Memorial Day: A Visit

rusty-chairs-14984653

May 26, 2017

“And Joseph said unto his brethren, I die: and God will surely visit you, and bring you out of this land unto the land which he sware to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.” Genesis 50:24

It’s Memorial Day weekend.  I have some plans and I expect to enjoy myself.  I hope that I will see some of my husband’s family that I have not seen in a while.  We will laugh; catch up on each other’s lives.  Look at all the new grandbaby pictures etc.  And of course, we will eat.  You can’t have a Radford gathering without eating.

Sounds wonderful.  I love my in laws or in loves as I prefer to call them.

However, there is another place I would rather be.  Nothing would make me smile more than a visit with my mother.

I would pull up to her house, knock on the back door, and hear her sweet voice telling me to come on in.  Then she would say, “Calvonia!” with a smile on her face that spread from check to check.

We would probably share some of her good cooking.  Talk about the goodness’ of the Lord and eventually we would end up sitting outside in her spot.  Just sharing precious time together.

Those seats by the back door are empty now. I can’t visit her anymore.

I miss my mother immensely.  I find comfort in knowing that one day I will see her again, at that great reunion in heaven.

Until then, God visits me.  Yes, he does.  He comes to commune with me. He comforts my grieving spirit and wipes my tears.  He lets me feel a strong sense of his presence and gives me hope for tomorrow.

This post is linked to Five Minute Friday where we write for five minutes about the prompt without stopping.

The prompt this week is VISIT.

Five-Minute-Friday-4

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

8 thoughts on “Memorial Day: A Visit”

  1. Stopping by from FMF. Oh, my heart aches for you missing your mother. I honestly don’t know what that is like since missing my Momma is nothing other than a temporary longing. I’m always grateful for our visits, no matter how short they are. ((HUGS)) to you and so glad you have precious memories and our loving Father to hold you over until you do see your Mother again.

    Like

  2. I will remember to cherish the ability to walk up my mom’s back steps to see her today. Thank you for that gift through your story of reminding us to be thankful. I’m sorry for the loss of your mother. I know from my husband’s loss of his mother that it is shocking to the soul to go through life without your mother. May you continue to be comforted by the God of all comfort.

    Like

    1. Enjoy your time together. It’s priceless. Yes, the loss is a shock to your soul but I know where she is and one day we will meet again. Thank you so much for your prayers and I pray the same for you husband. Thanks so much for stopping by Amy. Blessings!

      Like

  3. This is beautiful. It’s comforting to know that one day we will be reunited with our loved ones and that until then God visits us and gives us hope and peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

