Operation Graduation: Now What?

Dilemmas! The little girl within me stands on the curbside waiting for someone to take my hand and lead me across the street.

May 23,2017
now-what

Have you heard the chorus to Mikey Rooney’s “Put one Foot in Front of the Other”?  The lyrics allude to someone having difficulty walking. The suggested solution is simple yet profound.

It is so much easier to sing these lines than to walk them out. No pun intended.

So many times in my life I have stood at decision corner and pondered indecisively.  Should I go right or left?  Should I forge straight ahead?  Dilemmas!  The little girl within me stands on the curbside waiting for someone to take my hand and lead me across the street.

David, The Psalmist had similar feelings when faced with the Now What’s of his life. How did he discover the perfect path?  He prayed.  Let’s listen in on his conversation with God.

“Show me the right path, O LORD; point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you” (Psalm 25:4-5).

Did you pay close attention to the way he asked God to deliver the directive?

David, shepherd boy turned King, handed God a lesson plan template and asked him to fill it in.  HIs lesson plan addressed every learning style.

  1. Visual – Show me.
  2. Kinesthetic – Point out the road for me to follow.
  3. Auditory – Lead me by your truth and teach me.

David covered all the bases, didn’t he? It is as if he prayed with someone other than himself in mind.  Maybe David knew that today, in the year of our Lord 2017, I would ask the question, Now what?

Let’s take one more look at that song, Put one Foot in Front of the Other.

If you want to  change your direction

If your time of life is at hand

Well don’t be the rule, be the exception

A good way to start is to stand

Mr. Rooney and his cohorts are giving us a call to action. A call to be the exception.

You see the majority of people standing on the brink of a change will just sit there.  Some complain that good things never happen to them.  Others make laundry lists of why they will never succeed.

Many will follow the crowd.  Any crowd.  It doesn’t matter where the crowd is going.  At least it’s moving, right? Better than just sitting here, isn’t it? No!  As the song says,”A good way to start is to stand. ”

“Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand, therefore.” Ephesians 6:13-14a

Our scope of vision is limited, my sister.  It is not ours to chart the course.  God knows where the potholes are and the safest route.  Trust him to be the navigator.

So what do we do?

What is our action plan?

STAND! And, having stood until you think you can’t stand any longer. Just STAND!

“Show me the right path, O LORD; point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you” (Psalm 25:4-5).

I was ecstatic when I descended from the platform on graduation day, balancing optimism on my head like a stack of books.  Yet, The Pew Research Center reports 44% of college graduates are underemployed. Thus the dilemma.

Do I continue in my current job? Do I research graduate school opportunities or do I send out a trail of emails praying for an open door?

Maybe you like me are seeking God’s direction regarding a career.  Or, your dilemma may concern a church home, a new house or an inevitable divorce.

Whatever the decision, God already knows the best route and guess what, he knows the destination.  He reaches his hand to guide us! Let’s go!

 

I’m linking up with my blogger friends below this week..

livefreethursday-smwise-woman

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

Leave a Reply

