Define the Route to your Destination!

I’m joining #FiveMinuteFriday over at Kate Motaung’s place. The word prompt is DEFINE. Below is five minutes of free flow writing. The words START and STOP indicate where the timer started and ended. Go!

compass

START

I am a strong believer in writing SMART goals.  SMART goals are a method of strategic planning.  It falls right into my personality type.  I need to know how to get where I am going.

One of the components of strategic planning is measurement.  This is when you clearly define how you will know that you have reached your goal. You have a specific deadline for meeting the goal. This helps you stay driven and on track.

I plan to graduate with my Bachelor’s degree in May.  This last class has been challenging and stressful to say the least.  One of the best ways for me to stay motivated is to keep my eye on the prize.  I do this two ways.

  1. I have posted a “Keep calm and graduate class of 2017” sign on my office wall. Each week I add the phrase,”6 more weeks”
  2. Secondly, I keep a list of assignments, tests and presentations due along with the due dates in my course book. This allows me to check off all I have already completed and focus only on what has yet to be completed.

God teaches us to plan.  He states in Luke 14:28, “For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it?”

STOP

Paraphrase mine:

“Don’t try to reach a destination before you plan your route.”

I am struggling with this course and I covet your prayers for my stamina, fortitude and most importantly my comprehension.

What I do know is that God orchestrated my ability to return to college and he has set the course.  I believe he will see it to pass.

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.” Proverbs 16:3

Do you have goals and aspirations?

Have you sought God’s will in that area?

Have you planned the route?

Five-Minute-Friday-4

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “Define the Route to your Destination!”

Leave a Reply

