A 35-year journey to Friendship

Moses and Cal laughing

I’m joining #FiveMinuteFriday at Kate Motaung’s place. The word prompt is FRIEND.  Below is five minutes of free flow writing.  Your turn! Join us at Kate’s place.

This Sunday my husband and I will celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

I have heard people say that they married their best friend.  I can’t say that.  I married someone I was deeply attracted to.  I felt drawn to.  I knew there was something more for us, though I could not describe it.  But, he was not my best friend.

I had not come to the point of trusting him with my private thoughts, my past pains or my deepest desires.  But I do now!

Our friendship has been an uphill journey of gaining and losing.  There were times when we couldn’t get enough of each other and other times when we had all we could take off the other.

Our saving grace was that we both had a personal relationship with the Lord. He was our common denominator, the strength in our three strand cord.

9Two are better than one Because they have a good reward for their labor.
10 For if they fall, one will lift up his companion. But woe to him who is alone when he falls,
For he has no one to help him up.
11 Again, if two lie down together, they will keep warm; But how can one be warm alone?
12 Though one may be overpowered by another, two can withstand him. And a threefold cord is not quickly broken. Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

In the hard times, we clung to him.  In the good times, we clung to him.  Eventually, our separate wants, dreams, and aspirations merged.  Our three separate strands weaved together into a three strand cord.

Our possessiveness and selfishness grew from mine to ours. Distrust led to trust.  Fading infatuation became endless love.

“For this reason, a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife,and the two shall become one flesh’; [b] so then they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let not man separate.” Mark 10:7-9

That’s a friendship that transcends time.

Our friendship is 35 years in the making. Three children and four grandchildren later, we’re in this for the long hold.  We’re in this together.

Friends for life.

 

 

 

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

12 thoughts on “A 35-year journey to Friendship”

    1. Congratulations on your 16th Anniversary! What a blesssing. Our actual anniversary date is March 19th. We started celebrating yesterday. I think 35 years merits something a little more special. May God bless your marriage to be the epitome of Ephesians 5:22-33.

      Like

    1. Yes, Kim. I think we need to be more transparent so that those trailing behind us can draw strength from our example of overcoming. Thanks for stopping by. I sure do appreciate it.

      Like

  1. So beautiful Calvonia! Congratulations to you both! My husband and I just had our 20th anniversary in January…whew…it was a rough ride sometimes, but God has sharpened us using our marriage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

