Words of Wisdom Wednesday

wisdom

I’ve struggled with starting my blog this week.  Why?  I’m not really sure.  I have my theme and weekly topics lined up but for some reason I have yet to begin.

That being said, I have never participated in Words of Wisdom Wednesday before.  This week I have decided to share.

Scripture teaches us a profound principle, that just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.

“All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not”. I Corinthians 10:23 KJV

Let’s look at it in more contemporary language.

“All things are lawful,” but not all things are helpful. “All things are lawful,” but not all things build up”.   I Corinthians 10:23 NIV

I have learned a very valuable lesson this week.

Just because it is not wrong, doesn’t mean it’s right!

It sounds like an oxymoron doesn’t it?

However, when you let its truth seep  in, you will see that many times we do the right thing with the right motive not considering how it will affect those around us.  We don’t ponder how our action will be received or what the repercussions could be.

Impulsivity lacks the necessary forethought, reflection and consideration of the consequences.

There is poem used to teach children to pause before crossing a street.  It goes like this.

Stop and Look before you cross the street.

Use your eyes. Use your ears.  And then, use your feet.

We can use that same philosophy before opening our mouth, writing a social media post, picking up that telephone to call a friend etc.

crossing-the-street

Stop – Consider the consequences of your future action.  Will your action build up others or tear them down?  Are you adding value to the situation or taking it away?

Look – Think beyond the moment.  Ask God to let you see the situation or person through his eyes. Do a triple survey. Glance at the past. View the present and contemplate the future. Don’t leap before you look!

Then, cross the street – After prayerfully considering your next move, follow God’s lead.  Carefully cross, being aware of boundaries that God has set to protect both you and those in your sphere of influence.  Know that God will not lead you wrong.  He can see way down the street.  He hears oncoming traffic that you can’t hear.  He is a wise Father.

“When you have the right, doesn’t mean that you are right.”

― farah ezzatie

I can hear Jesus speaking to us now.  “Little children, I don’t want you to be ignorant concerning how to cross the street. Stop and look first.  Wait for me to tell you to go”.

Doing, saying or being what I want is so easy to justify.  My heavenly father, is a good father.  He knows what’s best for us.  His ways are not our ways, but his way is always the best way.

wise-womanlivefreethursday-sm

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

Leave a Reply

