Putting God First

God has a formula to reach the mark and gain the promise. His formula, His promise is conditional.

god-first-image

There are things that will never be activated in your life unless you partner with what God has given to achieve what is possible in your life.  Chrystal Evans Hurst

 

statisticbrain.com reports 45% of Americans make New Year resolutions.

You probably don’t find this statistic surprising because like me, you have made resolutions and I’d wager to say, you can relate to 24% of the population, who have failed in keeping them.

Some people choose not to make New Year resolutions, instead, they set goals and make plans to achieve them.  The wordsmithing is ingenious, isn’t it? I think not, a rose by any other name is still a rose.

Making resolutions or any form of setting a determined course of action is not wrong.   Truthfully, people who make resolutions are more likely to attain their goals than those who refrain from them.

As Christians, we have a goal, a mark to aim for.  Aiming to pleasing God and eventually gaining the prize, our heavenly home, is the mark.

I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:14 KJV

Above any other goal, we attempt; losing weight, getting our finances in order, pursuing a degree etc., the ultimate goal of a believer is to bring glory to God.

God has a plan for our lives which includes a promise of spiritual and physical health and prosperity.

Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth. III John 1:2

God has the formula to reach the mark and gain the promise.  His formula, His promise is conditional.  He laid it out like this.

If the believer will: Seek God and His righteousness

God will: Provide the desires of your heart

Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4 NKJV

But first and most importantly seek (aim at, strive after) His kingdom and His righteousness [His way of doing and being right—the attitude and character of God], and all these things will be given to you also. Matthew 6:33 AMP

The formula is so simple it’s incredible.  Seek God first and watch him do the rest.  Am I saying when we put God first, nothing else is required of us?  Au contraire!

You will never arrive at your destination if you don’t take the first step.

God’s formula does not encourage laziness, slothfulness or a lackadaisical attitude.  He is not trying to push us out of the equation.  He wants to be the first variable in the equation.

For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9

As we embark upon the year 2017, let’s write God in first as we strategically plan to reach our goals.

I. Put God in your day planner. Make time for him. We need his direction so we won’t get off track. We must commit to consulting him in our every move. Should I buy this car, marry this man, move to this city, take this job? Ask him about everything and follow his lead.

As independent women, it goes against the grain to follow commands.  We want to do it our way.  I have found, however when I do what I want contrary to what God wants me to do, I fail.  I always come running back to him with my head hanging down.

II. Search God’s word for direction. God will speak to you through his written word. Be still and look for a phrase appearing to be bold or a tugging at your heart.  God is speaking!

The year has just begun.  Let’s start now, seeking God first in all we do through prayer and bible reading. When we put the right puzzle piece in first, we will see his finger guiding us until the picture is completed perfectly.

Commit your work to the LORD, and your plans will be established.  Proverbs 16:3 ESV

 

women-with-intention-wednesdays wise-woman

 

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “Putting God First”

Leave a Reply

