Celebrate Jesus today!

celebrate-jesus

December 25th was my birthday.

Family and friends gathered around. I was showered with gifts and, greeted with “Happy birthday “, hugs and “I love you” both electronically and face to face. Demonstrations of love were sprinkled throughout my day.

My husband and my children never fail to intentionally acknowledge me on my birthday. That’s how special I am to them. I’m so grateful!

Growing up, I found it difficult to have a birthday on Christmas. 

Like most children, I was self-centered and of all days, I thought my birthday should be about me.

We are Christians so our Christmas day was filled with faith, fun and family mostly centered around, I bet you thought I was going to say, Jesus.  Our day evolved around each other.

We acknowledged the Christ child during the month of December through skits, plays, musicals and speeches.  Our home was decorated and we exclaimed, Merry Christmas everywhere we went.

We gave each other gifts.

We prepared good food and drinks, gathered around the table and ate together.

We talked, laughed and fellowshipped.

Later on in the day, we visited other homes and swapped gifts, ate some more food, talked, laughed and enjoyed each other.

Somewhere in the midst of the busy holiday my birthday was acknowledged. I always received a birthday gift from my parents. Occasionally someone else would remember that it was my birthday.  For the most part, Jesus birthday and my birthday merged, swallowing my special day up in his.

Do you ever wonder what Jesus feels like on his birthday! 

There is a great celebration in most homes on Christmas day.  Gifts are exchanged.  Good food and drinks are prepared. Greetings are given, most of which include his title, Christ (CHRISTmas).

However, rarely do we invite Jesus to our festivities. Our celebration and Jesus’ birthday have merged, absorbing his special day into ours.

Those people in my sphere of influence as a child cannot go back and make my birthdays any better.  Likewise, neither you nor I can turn back the clock to yesterday and make our holiday a holy day.

We can, however, start today.   We can make a conscience effort to get it right. Let’s start here and now by adopting these simple steps.

  1. Acknowledge him! It makes us feel good when someone addresses us by name or brings attention to something that we have done.  We can do the same for the Lord. Call him by name and bring light to the things that he has done.

“In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths”.  Proverbs 3:6

  1. Give Jesus some gifts. He constantly gives to us with unmerited favor. The scripture says he rains on the just and the unjust. The least we can do is honor him with our sacrifices.

“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service”. Romans 12:1

By him therefore let us offer the sacrifice of praise to God continually, that is, the fruit of our lips giving thanks to his name. Hebrews 13:15

Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops. Proverbs 3:9

  • Celebrate him! Jesus the one who came to save us from our sins deserves to be commemorated. Our celebration of the Lord can be done in the privacy of our own homes or in corporate worship. Have a Jesus party each day.

“O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together”.   Psalm 34:3

“And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit;  Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ; Ephesians 5: 18-20

This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.       Psalm 118:24

Making Jesus a priority and choosing to celebrate him is a choice.  He is worthy of our praise.  As we approach the end of this year and await the beginning of the new year, let’s commit to celebrating the King of Kings and Lord of Lords.  Let’s make each day a celebration for him because he is that special to us.

livefreethursday-smwise-woman

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

6 thoughts on “Celebrate Jesus today!”

  1. Cal, very nice! When you posed the question about how Jesus feels on his birthday, I had a sinking feeling. We go to church a few hours but even then most think about the gifts that are waiting for us. Thank you for sharing this insight.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you had a good birthday this year. I’ve always felt it must be hard for people who have their birthday on Christmas Day when their birthday celebrations are lost in all the Christmas festivities.
    I like the link you make to how Jesus must feel when he is left out of things. It’s so important to celebrate him and invite him into things, not just at Christmas but every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this comparison and all these verses that remind us to lift Him up higher in our own hearts and to those around us. I especially need to remember the verse that calls thanksgiving and praise a sacrifice. I think that means that I praise Him in spite of the negative circumstances that try to pull my attention away from Him. He is worthy of my praise no matter what may be happening that tries to drag me down. He is my glory and the lifter of my head (Psalm 3:3)

    Like

Leave a Reply

