The time is NOW!

the-time-is-now

I’m joining #FiveMinuteFriday over at Kate Motaung’s place. The word prompt is NOW. Below is five minutes of free flow writing. The words START and STOP indicate where the timer started and ended. Go!

START

“But a time is coming, and it is already here! Even now the true worshipers are being led by the Spirit to worship the Father according to the truth. These are the ones the Father is seeking to worship him”.  John 4:23 CEV

On December 25th at 12:00 am we will arrive at NOW!

I need to get that tree decorated SOON will be no more.

I have a few more gifts to purchase TOMORROW will be too late.

It will be NOW!

This is the time of year when we in the Western world stop to acknowledge the birth of Jesus.

Jesus, the one who came at just the right time to redeem up from our sins.

But when the fulness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law, Galatians 4:4 KJV

I’m a procrastinator.  One of my most frequently used words is later.  I love that word because it buys me time.

There are days, however, when I find there is no more time to say LATER.

There is a story in the book of John about Jesus meeting a woman at a well in Samaria.  After a brief discussion about water which wasn’t really about drinking water but about Jesus who was the living water, Jesus uses the word NOW.

Now – used in or as a request, instruction, or question, typically to give a slight emphasis to one’s words.

In this passage, Jesus informed the Samaritan lady that the time is coming (Actually NOW) when true worshipers will worship the Father according to the truth.

In the same way, the Samaritan lady initially refused Jesus our society rejects him too.

She dismissed him because A) He was from a people group that her folks didn’t talk to and B) Her culture worshiped their God in a different place.

STOP

We go through the motions of Christmas culturally, all the while neglecting to worship Jesus.  We admire the good man that he became and applaud all the good stuff that he did, but we don’t worship him.  That would require sacrifice.

In Jesus’ statement to the Samaritan woman, he proclaimed that a time was coming when God’s people would worship according to the truth.

He told her that the only true worshippers worshiped in light of the truth.  What or shall I say who is the truth?

“Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me”. John 14:6 KJV

We are so inundated with information that we find it hard to decipher and come to the truth. Thus the upcoming holiday, Christmas.

Christmas is our NOW.  Now is the time to seek Jesus, the baby in the manger. The babe that through love came, lived and died for people like the Samaritan woman, people like me and you.  He came to bring salvation to us.

Will you accept the invitation, NOW?

Now is your opportunity! One day it will be too late.  Come to Jesus, NOW!

“Wherefore (as the Holy Ghost saith, To day if ye will hear his voice,  8 Harden not your hearts, as in the provocation, in the day of temptation in the wilderness”: Hebrews 3:7-8.

 

Because if you confess with your mouth “Jesus is Lord” and in your heart you have faith that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 Trusting with the heart leads to righteousness, and confessing with the mouth leads to salvation. Romans 19:9-10

Five-Minute-Friday-4

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

6 thoughts on “The time is NOW!”

  1. Calvonia- it’s funny we want everything packaged up perfect and then we will worship Him at Christmas, don’t we? What about as we strive to get what we need done, we use those times as worship? We journey through the process awaiting the King of Kings, just like the Wise Man.
    Julie

    Like

    1. I like that Julie! We should worship him “as we strive”. The entire preparation process would be much better if we worshiped him “as we strive”. That’s deep. I love your insight. Be blessed my friend. Merry Christmas.

      Like

  2. Calvonia, it is wonderful to “meet” you. You raise a very good point – we think that “later” buys us more time. It is eye opening to realize the lie we buy into when we put things off. Thank you for this today! I think I will tend to what is calling me now, today. May you and yours have a blessed Christmas! I am glad you stopped by my blog so that I was able to visit you as well. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

