Embrace change: Part V. The Abrasiveness of Change has its Benefits.

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

Ecclesiates 3:1

sandpaper

Sandpaper, a nail file, the exfoliation stage of a facial, and pruning a tree have a common denominator.  They are each agents of change used to transform something from what it is to what it should be.

The abrasiveness of change has its benefits.  

Sandpaper and nail files smooth rough surfaces.

Exfoliation scrubs the skin with a gritty substance and removes dead skin.

Pruning removes dead, damaged and diseased branches thereby stimulating growth in sparse areas of the tree.

Our heavenly Father is the master agent of change.  He knows us better than we know ourselves.  In his wisdom he carefully sands, scrubs, and prunes us at will. 

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28

Although change can go against the grain and cause us to be uncomfortable, God always has a plan.  His actions are not happenstance.  They are intentional.  His plan is to give us peace.

It doesn’t make sense does it?  Cause me discomfort to bring me peace?  Let me see if I can break it down.

God loves me just the way I am, but he loves me too much to let me stay that way. 

He knows my bent towards certain sinful behavior.  He is aware of any generational curses in our family tree. He knows the spiritual gifts that are lying dormant beneath the surface.  That’s why he sands, scrubs and prunes until they are revealed for his glory.

change

How should we respond to this renovation process?

  1. Be still and let him do his thing. The creator of the universe is a capable craftsman. Our job is to  trust him with the process.

Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! Psalm 46:10

  1. Anticipate the results. He has strategically planned the methods and techniques to give us the best future possible. Get ready, change is coming.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11

  1. Offer up a yet praise! Remember he knows what he is doing.

We must give God thanks even though we don’t understand his means to the end. When we praise God he will come down and sit with us. His presence will give us the stamina we need to hold on until our change comes.

Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance. Psalm 42:5

But thou art holy, O thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel. Psalm 22:3

When the pressure and abrasiveness of change presents itself, we must embrace it. God is doing a work in us.  The results will be phenomenal.

This blog has been shared on the following sites.

holley-gerth-button-250x250   mondays-musings

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

6 thoughts on “Embrace change: Part V. The Abrasiveness of Change has its Benefits.”

  1. Wonderful encouragement, Calvonia. My first reaction to change is always fear and trepidation…the fear of the unknown is paralyzing. But, I have so often found throughout life that the changes I feared have propelled me to a better place. God is always at work…thank you for reminding me. So thankful I visited you from Holley’s link-up! Have a blessed day in Him!

    Like

    1. Satan is a deceiver. He is still trying that same old trick he used on Sister Eve. I am so thankful for the truth of God’s word that transcends time. Blessings to you Julie. The feeling is mutual. You are a blessing to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

