Surrender!

I’m joining #FiveMinuteFriday over at Kate Motaung’s place. The word prompt is SURRENDER. Below is five minutes of free flow writing. The words START and STOP indicate where the timer started and ended. Go!

surrender

START

It’s hard to think about surrendering when you’re standing between the known and the unknown.  You’re not sure if your baby steps are moving you forward or taking you backward as if you’re standing on those conveyor belts in the airport.

It’s not natural to throw up both hands and give up.  We’ve got too much fight in us for that.  Think about it.  We are overcomers, more than conquerors, right?

Jesus was in that same position when he prayed in the garden of Gethsemane as he had one foot in that human suit he wore and the other on his heavenly throne.

He was facing death, undeservedly.  He was going to carry my sins and your sins to the cross.  His burden was unbearable.  Surrender to the will of the Father or bail out?  What was he to do?

“And he went forward a little, and fell on the ground, and prayed that, if it were possible, the hour might pass from him.” Mark 14:35

STOP

My big brother, exemplified true surrender on that cold and dreary night when he prayed this prayer.

“And he said, Abba, Father, all things are possible unto thee; take away this cup from me: nevertheless not what I will, but what thou wilt.” Mark 14:36

If Jesus chose surrender who am I to hold on in those challenging seasonal changes of my life.

His surrender brought me freedom from the tomb and gave me freedom from my sin.

I must learn to let go and allow God to transition me from my known to the freeing situation he wants to take me to.

Five-Minute-Friday-4

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

4 thoughts on “Surrender!”

  1. I like the example of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane. It is encouraging that he didn’t always find surrender easy but he is the perfect of example of surrendering to God even in something so hard.

    Like

    1. It’s refreshing to me that Jesus is so transparent. He doesn’t portray a false image of strength. In the flesh, he was challenged with pain and led the way so to speak so that we would know that we to can conquer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

