Embrace change: Part III Give thanks during the transition.

The wisest man who ever lived, Solomon instructs us in Proverbs 3:5-6 not to take much stock in our own intelligence but to trust Go

I will offer to You the sacrifice of thanksgiving And will call upon the name of the Lord. Psalm 116:17

metamorphosis

George Stigler has been quoted as stating, “A transition period is a period between two transition periods”  I tend to agree.

We are always moving into or out of something, like the trains in a subway. That’s transitioning.

A transition is a process or a period of changing from one state or condition to another.

As believers in Christ, we are set on a fast track to transition as soon as we accept Christ as our savior. God takes us through something like a metamorphosis; from caterpillar to butterfly.

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. II Corinthians 5:17

Our transformation, however, is different from that of the caterpillar in that the Christian’s transformation, this metamorphosis, is a life long process. We never stop changing.

God uses the phases of life to catapult us into change.

To be honest, it is not the transitions of life that we resist.  Often we look with great anticipation toward what the transition will bring.  It’s the process that we hate.

Think for a moment about the caterpillar in the cocoon.  It cannot lay dormant and wish that he becomes a butterfly.  It must endure the struggle or the outcome would be different.  A butterfly would eventually emerge from the cocoon but it would not have the ability to fly.  Why? Because it is the struggle that gives the butterfly’s wings their strength.

How do we as Christians withstand the difficult transitions of life?

I. Embrace the spirit of Thanksgiving!

The Psalmist in Psalm 116:17 vows to offer thanksgiving as a sacrifice. He admits that it won’t be easy but he knows it is necessary. God has been too good not to say Thank you!

I will offer to You the sacrifice of thanksgiving,
And will call upon the name of the Lord. Psalm 116:17

II. Remember what he has done for you in the past.

In the book of Lamentations chapter three, we see Jeremiah listing the transitional experiences that he has succumbed.  But in verses 20 – 22, he proclaims that though his metamorphosis had caused him to sink, when he recalled them to his mind, it brought him  hope.

My soul still remembers And sinks within me. 21 This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.  Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.

III. Trust God

The wisest man who ever lived, Solomon instructs us in Proverbs 3:5-6 not to take much stock in our own intelligence but to trust God. In doing so, we would find him directing our path.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding;  In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct[a] your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6

IV. Wait patiently

Waiting is the most challenging part of this transition journey but the most rewarding. Waiting is not meant to be a passive wait.  It’s actively waiting because you know in your spirit that God will come through.  Remember, he has done it before and he will do it again.

Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord! Psalm 27:14

Whatever your situation or circumstance as you approach this thanksgiving holiday, commit to being thankful.  God will honor your attitude of gratitude.  He will show you new mercies and his marvelous works.

Lord, some of my dear sisters are walking through some rough terrain.  Some face loses others relational turmoil.  Regardless of the burden, bring blessing.  Lift the spirit of heaviness and give her joy for pain.  In Jesus name, Amen!

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

4 thoughts on “Embrace change: Part III Give thanks during the transition.”

  1. It’s this sometimes a hard truth. I’m struggling right now with God teaching me patience! Thank you for the reminder to continue to do God’s work while I wait for the transition. Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. Calvonia- life-long change. I just curled my lip and little and grumbled. I know change is great because it makes me more like my Savior, but it’s tough, painful work!
    I love your bullet points.
    Great post!
    Julie

    Like

    1. Julie, my mother always said nothing worth having is easy. It is a tough road that leads to what God has for us. With the power of the holy spirit we can do it! Thanks for your constant encouragement. Blessings my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

