Embracing Change: Every Season has a Purpose

Solomon in Ecclesiastes 3:1 reminds us that life’s unexpected events are not just happenstance. They have been strategically planned by God with a specific purpose and appropriate timing.

To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

Ecclesiates 3:1

embrace-change

What is your favorite season?

There are some aspects of each season that I enjoy, but I prefer summer!

I like walking outside without shoes on my feet,

And feeling the prickly grass between my toes.

I enjoy a cool breeze on a sultry day

and sitting on the front porch drinking iced tea

from a mason jar.

I find pleasure in doing nothing but watching people go by and startling them with a simple, “Hello, how ya’ll doing today! “. (With my country drawl of course)

I also I like summer because it’s nice to my arthritic body.  My knees don’t hurt and my hips and shoulders don’t get quite as inflamed.  I know, I’m too young for all that arthritis stuff, but it is what it is.

Lest I forget, the longer daylight hours are invigorating.  Yes Lord, the sun rises earlier and sets later, or at least that’s what it seems like.

So when the leaves begin to surrender their color and the green grass goes into hibernation, I rebel!

I’m the one still wearing my sandals in mid-October and trying to get one last wear out of my sleeveless blouse.  I transition into fall kicking and screaming.

Against my wishes fall arrives each year and with it comes its unique experiences and beauty.  There is a briskness in the air that welcomes the day, yet the sun warms the afternoons.  The autumn foliage’s color wheel with shades of red, yellow, purple, black, orange, pink, magenta, blue and brown decorate the earth’s floor as the leaves are released from its various places on the tree.

There are many seasons in life.  We transition from youth to adult, single to married, childless to parenting and all the various shifts of life.

The disciples had a life change when their spiritual mentor, Jesus ascended into heaven after walking alongside them for three years. Jesus knew what they would need, so he sent them and us the Holy Spirit.

I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; John 14:16

During each transitional period of life; from good health to sickness, full house to empty nest, gainfully employed to unemployment the Holy Spirit ushers us through the uncomfortableness of life’s challenges. He comforts us when we grieve and gives us direction when we are lost.  The warmness of the Holy Spirit’s power is refreshing at the end of a day filled with the chilly breeze of difficulty.

Solomon in Ecclesiastes 3:1 reminds us that life’s unexpected events are not just happenstance.  They have been strategically planned by God with a specific purpose and appropriate timing.

To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: Ecclesiates 3:1

As you sit on the brink of a new season, savoring the joys of the current, don’t resist change.  God has something wonderful in store for you!  He is releasing you from your comfort zone into a colorful array of his bountiful blessings.

Our big brother Jesus has paved the way.  He endured the cross and was carried to some cold, dark tomb.  But three days later he broke out of that uncomfortable place, went back to heaven and is now sitting on the right hand of the father, interceding on our behalf.

“looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God”. Hebrews 12:2 ESV

leaves-on-a-tree

Do you struggle with change?

Do you trust that God knows your tomorrow and he is there waiting on you?

He who rejects change is the architect of decay. The only human institution which rejects progress is the cemetery. -Harold Wilson (1916-1995)

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

4 thoughts on “Embracing Change: Every Season has a Purpose”

  1. Calvonia- Great reminder about change! I don’t really like change, but I know it’s necessary. “Solomon in Ecclesiastes 3:1 reminds us that life’s unexpected events are not just happenstance. They have been strategically planned by God with a specific purpose and appropriate timing.”
    Everything boils down to trust doesn’t it? God is really working on my trust lately!
    Blessings friend!
    Julie

    Like

    1. Julie, I think trusting God is a daily challenge. It helps to remember that he is always in control. Nothing catches him by surprise. We must trust him with the outcome, because he always has our best interest in mind. I appreciate your faithfulness to my blogs. Blessings to you my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

