Hungry enough to eat God’s Word?

I’m joining my friend Kate Motaung in her #FiveMinuteFriday blog invite. The word prompt for today is EAT. Below is five minutes of free flow writing. The words START and STOP indicate where the timer started and ended. Go!

 grumpy-child-eating-food

And he said to me, “Son of man, eat whatever you find here. Eat this scroll, and go, speak to the house of Israel.” 2So I opened my mouth, and he gave me this scroll to eat. 3And he said to me, “Son of man, feed your belly with this scroll that I give you and fill your stomach with it.” Then I ate it, and it was in my mouth as sweet as honey. Exekial 3:1-3

START

Have you ever hidden food to prevent from eating it?  Did you ever pretend that you finished everything on your plate knowing full well that you may have eaten half of it, if that?  Well I have!

As a child, I felt that food was overrated.  It was okay for what it was, but it wasn’t all that.

My grandmother was worried about me.  So much so that she took me to  our family doctor who comforted her with these words. “When she gets hungry, she will eat!”  I’m sure she didn’t find that very comforting.

As bizarre as my eating habits or lack thereof were, I see this every day in my spiritual life.  I hear the word preached by the man of God week after week.  I attend bible studies and read biblical literature regularly.  In other words I go to the table to eat every time the table is set.  However, many times, I hide that word deep down somewhere for the future.  I don’t call or text a friend or write a post for my hundreds of Facebook “friends”.  I don‘t even stop by to visit some shut in member or young mother stuck at home with a sick child.  I don’t share what I’ve heard.

STOP

I wonder if God is worried about me.  He is the great physician, you know.  Maybe he has that same philosophy that my old family doctor had. “When she gets hungry, she will eat!” .

Lord, give me a hunger for your word that fills me till I overflow.  Till I overflow to those who will be encouraged, strengthen, convicted and converted.  Stop me from hoarding the food that I get at your table week after week.  Help me to become a distribution company that mails, e-mails or hand delivers that specially formulated dish to those in need. Amen!

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “Hungry enough to eat God’s Word?”

    1. Mary you are so right, we eat while others go hungry. We are responsible for the malnourished epidemic in our land. Oh that we would serve up a meal to a starving people. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

