Mail

I’m joining #FiveMinuteFriday over at Kate Motaung’s place. The word prompt is LISTEN. Below is five minutes of free flow writing. The words START and STOP indicate where the timer started and ended. Go!

The Five Minute Friday word is mail.

mail-06

 

Start:

This will be written for the generation to come, That a people yet to be created may praise the LORD. Psalm 102:18

I remember when my husband and I were dating.  He wasn’t a preacher or pastor at that time. He was a farmer.  Yes, he raised tobacco.  I was a college student.

We lived about a 45 minute drive apart and when I was in college, it was a little farther.  Long distance telephone calls were expensive and cellphones didn’t exist.

So we wrote.

We wrote each other back and forth for two years until we married.

I still have every letter that he sent me.  We’ve been married for 34 ½ years. 

I pull out those letters occasionally to feel his pulse.  Those letters depict what he saw in me.  He saw more in me than I could.  He saw beauty and potential.  Something that my sun glasses of low self-esteem were blinded to.  He saw a future preacher’s wife.

Preacher’s wife?

Yes, he saw the help meet that he would need when he finally submitted to God’s call on his life.

Those letters include words questions and answers, exchanged compliments and eventually transitioned from inquisitiveness to intimacy.

In today’s electronic age, I wonder if love birds print off the emails or social media post to save.  I doubt it.  They don’t know what they are missing.

Stop:

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

8 thoughts on “Mail”

  1. Awwwww Calvonia this is the sweetest thing! 🙂 I’m sure it’s precious to have all of those letters sent so many years ago and to see how you both have changed and grown. What a beautiful story! Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

    Kaitlin

    Like

Leave a Reply

