Clergy Appreciation Month Part I

paastor-appreciationI have been blessed to serve beside my husband, Pastor Moses Lee Radford  for over three decades.  He has been pastoring for 34 years, 25 at his current pastorate.

As a pastor’s wife and mother to three PKs (Pastor’s Kids), I know the life of a Pastor’s family.  We are some of the most blessed people in the world!

My husband is God’s messenger.  He hand delivers the word of God to his people week after week.  He spends countless hours studying, praying and preparing the message being careful to deliver it just the way God told him to.

By default, my family is blessed.  As God’s people bless him, we his wife and children, benefit from the overflow.

God takes care of his preachers and he uses his people to do it. 

And we beseech you, brethren, to know them which labour among you, and are over you in the Lord, and admonish you;

13 And to esteem them very highly in love for their work’s sake. And be at peace among yourselves.

14 Now we exhort you, brethren, warn them that are unruly, comfort the feebleminded, support the weak, be patient toward all men.  I Thessalonians 5:12-14

My church family has helped me rear my children.  They have blessed my household out of their resources, and most importantly they have prayed with and for us through many of life’s circumstances.

God also takes care of those who bless the preacher.

Do you remember the widow who fed Elijah?

Then the word of the Lord came to him, saying, “Arise, go to Zarephath, which belongs to Sidon, and dwell there. See, I have commanded a widow there to provide for you.” 10 So he arose and went to Zarephath. And when he came to the gate of the city, indeed a widowwas there gathering sticks. And he called to her and said, “Please bring me a little water in a cup, that I may drink.” 11 And as she was going to get it, he called to her and said, “Please bring me a morsel of bread in your hand.”

12 So she said, “As the Lord your God lives, I do not have bread, only a handful of flour in a bin, and a little oil in a jar; and see, I am gathering a couple of sticks that I may go in and prepare it for myself and my son, that we may eat it, and die.”

13 And Elijah said to her, “Do not fear; go and do as you have said, but make me a small cake from it first, and bring it to me; and afterward make some for yourself and your son. 14 For thus says the Lord God of Israel: ‘The bin of flour shall not be used up, nor shall the jar of oil run dry, until the day the Lord sends rain on the earth.’”

15 So she went away and did according to the word of Elijah; and she and he and her household ate for many days. 16 The bin of flour was not used up, nor did the jar of oil run dry, according to the word of the Lord which He spoke by Elijah.

I have watched those precious sisters and brothers who have chosen to bless the man of God with what was within their power to do.  They have experienced ups and down just as everyone else has, but it seems every time it looks like they are at the bottom of the barrel, God steps in.  I believe it’s because they participate in blessing their pastor.

Once a year churches all over this nation pause to celebrate the leader of their flock in October, Clergy Appreciation Month. The celebration was established in 1992 with a mission of uplifting and encouraging pastors, missionaries and religious workers.

Why should we participate? Because we are commanded to.  We honor the man who leads us to Christ, baptizes our children, brings us the word, teaches us, guides us, prays for us, walks alongside us in difficult times and rejoices with us in the good ones.  Just to name a few.  He deserves our honor.

Render therefore to all their dues: tribute to whom tribute is due; custom to whom custom; fear to whom fear; honour to whom honour.  Romans 13:7

Appreciate your pastoral leaders who gave you the Word of God. Take a good look at the way they live, and let their faithfulness instruct you, as well as their truthfulness. (Hebrews 13:7, MSG)

I encourage you.  No, I challenge you to practice honoring the shepherd that God has placed over you.  Remember when you bless him, God will bless you!

I have included a link below with suggestions on how to make your pastor’s appreciation month a great one.

Be Blessed!

 

http://media.focusonthefamily.com/pastoral/pdf/CAM_Guide_2012.pdf

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “Clergy Appreciation Month Part I”

Leave a Reply

