Stop, Look and Listen!

Cross carefully into the new. Don’t fear, the crossing guard is trustworthy.

Stop, look, listen sign on road

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:18-19

 

Have you ever had plans to fail? Has your carefully planned route ever been hindered by interruptions? It has happened to me far too many times in my opinion.

Last night I was typing the handout for my Sunday School class when all of a sudden my laptop died.  This would not have been surprising however, the computer was plugged into the electrical socket.

I began twisting and turning the power cord, this way and that way. I unplugged the cord and plugged it in again.  Finally to discover that the power cord needed to be replaced. Again.

I went to bed to prevent any further frustration.  I know myself.  I would have allowed frustration to lead to anxiety and quickly I would have knots in my stomach, heart palpitations and tears running down my face.  Just because my power cord didn’t work and my computer died.

We have more than one computer in our house. The catastrophe was that I had typed more than half of the handout on my laptop.  Using my husband’s laptop or our desk top (the dinosaur) would require me to start all over again.

What’s so bad about starting all over again?

Do we get so upset because starting over means we must abort former methods and procedures?  Or is the irritableness induced by the realization that the new won’t be exactly like the old? I would wager to say that starting over scares us because we aren’t sure what the new will bring.

When we face interruptions and the detour signs on our journey we should remember to stop, look and listen before we cross the street.

STOP – stop and think about why you need to change directions.  Is there upcoming danger on the current route? Have you failed to follow the navigator (The Holy Bible), choosing rather to do it your way?

LOOK – Search God’s word for direction.  Pray that God will guide you through his word.  Pay attention to any words or phrases that seem to jump out at you or passages that you can’t stop thinking about.  That’s God speaking a rhema (tailor made) word to you.

LISTEN – God speaks to us in many ways. He speaks through his word.  He speaks through people in our lives. He speaks through situations that seem unrelated yet you will know without a doubt he is speaking. Ask God to make you aware and sensitive to his voice.

After following these three steps: STOP, LOOK and LISTEN, cross carefully into the new. Don’t fear, the crossing guard is trustworthy.

The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9

 

 

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

Leave a Reply

