Trophies trigger triumph!

Each of us has some Goliath sized challenges and our first instinct is to cower down.

 

“This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope”. Lamentations 3:21

david and the lion

The trophy for the hunter is that deer hanging on the wall. If you think its head is big, you should hear the accompanying story!

I love a good story!

Some of the best story tellers are fishermen and hunters.  They have learned the art of object lessons. Though the stories are engaging alone, the hunter has something tangible hanging on the wall. There in a conspicuous location, the head or skin of the animal is evidence the hunter achieved his or her goal.

Taxidermy is not my area of expertise, but I get it. What’s the use of defeating your prey if you can’t show it off and write a song about it?

David the shepherd had a story or two.

I’m not sure if David had a bear hanging on his wall back in Bethlehem. What I do know is he had some animals mounted on his memory wall.

When David was sent by his father to take his soldier brothers some lunch on the battlefield, he found them along with their troop overtaken with fear.

They were so focused on the massive structure and, booming voice of one man, GOLIATH, they could no longer see the all-powerful God!

Goliath, the philistine, was ten feet tall wearing approximately 126 lbs of armor. His presence was intimidating and his challenge alarming.

Goliath told the Israelite army to choose one man to approach him and square off like the gunfighters in a western film. His proposal; if an Israeli won the fight, the Philistines would become slaves to the Israelites, but if Goliath became the champion, the Israelites would serve them.

The thought of sparing with Goliath thrust these skilled warrior men into fear. They cowered down for 40 days and then,

David showed up!

David the shepherd boy, recalled how God had delivered him from the hand of the lion and the bear, and he gained courage. He took one good glance at those trophies hanging on his memory wall and drew courage to fight Goliath in the name of the Lord! He was victorious! He walked away from the battlefield with another head for his wall.

goliath's head

In the midst of our giants, we have a memory wall just as full as David’s.

Don’t dismantle the wall! Visit it and find hope in the midst of fear and delight from the master champion. Psalm 147:11NIV

 Your assignment if you will accept it:

Make a list of the worst battles you have fought.  Highlight the ones God helped you to conquer.  Save that list to be retrieved the next time you face a difficult season.

 

 

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “Trophies trigger triumph!”

  1. I love the story of David and how he drew strength for the challenge he faced against Goliath from his memories of times in the past when God had helped him and shown his faithfulness. I love the idea of a memory wall. This is the second post I’ve read on this is in the last week so I think God wants me to take notice of this.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing Carly! We can draw strength and courage for our challenges when we recall to our mind what God has done. I don’t have a memory wall but I have a book similar to a journal that I store those things in. I find it encouraging. Be blessed and always remember!

    Like

Leave a Reply

