You need a mother.

 

spiritual mothers

I get teary eyes and a lump in my throat when I remember my daughter leaving for her 11 month mission trip around the world.  I didn’t realize that God was calling me to release my child into the unknown.   That act of surrender ripped my heart out!

Casondra was my clingy child.  Maybe because she was breast fed.  I’m not sure.  But, she never wanted to be anywhere without her mother.

How in the world was she going to cope on this world race trip without me?  I’ll tell you how.

God planted someone in her life at each juncture to be her surrogate mother.   In Kenya, it was Mama Emmy, the Pastor’s wife who later would I had the pleasure of meeting.

If you have ever traveled abroad, you know the challenge of learning a new culture.  I experienced that in 2012 when I traveled to Kenya for a two week mission trip.  Although I practiced the basic greetings and requests in Kiswahili, and studied the cultural and social norms for months, I found a huge learning curve when I became immersed into the culture.

I was only there for two weeks.  My daughter’s trips were not that short.  She spent a minimum of one month in each country she served.  Additionally she had served in China for a summer, Ethiopia for a couple of months and eventually Kenya for six months.

HOW DID SHE SURVIVE?

It was the Mama that she adopted in each of those homes.  She knew that she needed someone to teach her, encourage her and most importantly, nurture her.

In Paul’s letter to the Titus, he admonished him to establish some mentor-mentee relationships in the church.  One of which was the spiritual mothering model.  Spiritual mothers were charged with teaching younger women.  They were to teach them how to live holy and model how to love their husbands and how to love their children.  Paul knew that new believers didn’t have ESP.  They couldn’t adopt the Nike’ slogan, Just do it!  They had to be taught.

So, if you are a seasoned saint, don’t be content walking this Christian journey all alone.  Pour into a new believer or new member in your church.  If you are the newbie and no one has made that move to mentor you, move toward them.  Pray and ask God who that mentor should be and  initiate.  It will be an awkward move, but well worth the stressful moment.

Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled. Titus 2: 3-5

https://www.worldrace.org/?tab=about

Author: realtalk859

My name is Calvonia, a unique name for a unique person. I've shared my life with my husband, lover and friend, Moses for most of my adult life. We are blessed with three children, a daughter-in-love and four grandchildren. I enjoy studying God's word, nature and most genres of music.

2 thoughts on “You need a mother.”

Leave a Reply

